Sun dried tomato pesto over zucchini “noodles”

Posted on March 13, 2012

0



On of my go to meals before becoming paleo/primal was pasta.  Having to give that up has been the biggest challenge for me.  I’ve spent a lot of time looking for a pasta substitute, and have found zucchini to be the best tasting option for me.  I served this at a dinner party recently, and it was a hit.  This is another recipe I’ve found that is both paleo and vegetarian, which made all my guests happy.  Serve this as an appetizer, salad course, a side, or a main with paleo rosemary bread on the side.

ImageFor zucchini

8-10 slender zucchini

1 1/2 cups fresh basil, packed

1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes

1 tsp jarred, or 2 cloves fresh garlic

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/4 cup toasted pine nuts

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

*Serves 8 as a side or 4 as a main dish

Begin by slicing zucchini lengthwise into very thin strips.  I use a mandolin on the thinnest setting and it works great.  Set aside and make the pesto.  Add basil, sun dried tomatoes, pine nuts, red pepper, garlic and salt and pepper to a food processer.  Blend together, pouring in olive oil until a paste forms.  You may need to add a bit more oil if pesto is too thick.  Bring water to a boil in a large pot and salt well.  Add zucchini noodles and cook just until tender 2-3 minutes.  Drain zucchini very well (it will be watery) and in a large serving bowl or platter mix together drained zucchini and pesto.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


		
Posted in: Today's recipe