Seared scallops with crispy bacon

Posted on March 14, 2012

0



I love seared scallops, but had never made them at home.  I don’t know what the “season” is for scallops but occasionally, they start carrying them at my local Whole Foods.  When I noticed they were in stock again, I figured now was as good a time as any to try making them at home.  I am always cautious when experimenting with expensive ingredients, but this was surprisingly quick and easy.  I’ve made this recipe as a main course for two, and an appetizer for a recent dinner party.  I have to admit, this is one of my favorite paleo recipes so far.

For scallops:

8-12 large scallops

2-3 slices uncured bacon

3 large gloves garlic, minced

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

salad greens (optional)

Heat a bit of olive oil in a large pan.  Chop bacon into about 1/2 inch pieces, and add to the pan cooking until it begins to crisp.  Once bacon starts to get crispy, add the minced garlic and red pepper cooking another 1-2 minutes.  Do not allow the garlic to brown.  Add scallops one by one ensuring they have enough room between them to sear properly.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Sear 3-5 minutes on each side until just cooked through.  I like to serve mine over a bed of greens using the pan juices and bacon as a sort of salad dressing.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe