Crab cakes

Posted on March 17, 2012

0



I absolutely love fresh crab, and any time I see crab cakes on a restaurant menu I can’t help but order them.  Once I realized I could make paleo crab cakes at home I started immediately.  Fresh, good quality crab meat is the key to making these moist and delicious.  If you’re on a tight budget of course you can use canned crab (be sure to read the label and check for unsavory additives) claw meat, or a less expensive crab meat, but the wild caught blue lump makes the best tasting cakes.  Whatever you decide, avoid anything spelled with a “K”.

1 8-12 oz container wild caught jumbo  lump crab meat

1 egg

1 tsp old bay or other seafood seasoning

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 cup almond meal

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

Mix all ingredients together thoroughly, but gently so you don’t break up all the lumps of crab.  If mixture is too wet, add a bit more flour just until you can form patties that hold together well.  Form patties into any size you like.  I just make two big cakes for my boyfriend and I, but when I have guests over I like to use a cookie scoop, or melon baller to ensure the cakes are small and uniform.  Heat a bit of olive oil in a skillet and cook cakes until golden brown on both sides.  Usually this takes 5-8 minutes on each side, depending on the size of the cakes.  Serve these with grainy mustard, sriracha, homemade olive oil mayo or any other paleo friendly sauce you like.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe