Homemade chicken stock

Posted on April 1, 2012

0



As I’ve discussed before, making your own stock is one of the best ways to make use of ingredients you would otherwise throw away.  There is no real set recipe since most of the ingredients are interchangeable, but this is how I made my most recent batch of chicken stock.

Image8 cups water

1 chicken carcass

3-4 carrots

3-4 celery stalks, or tops from 1 whole bunch

1 medium onion

6 cloves garlic

3-4 lettuce “stems”

3-4 broccoli stems

2 tsp sea salt

small handful whole peppercorns

Roughly chop any large veggies, and place them in the pot with all other ingredients.  Simmer at least 2-3 hours, or until you like the flavor.  The longer you simmer the ingredients the more flavorful the stock will be.  Strain liquid into a large bowl and discard solids.  Stock can be kept in a sealed container in the fridge for about 5 days, or in the freezer for a few months.  You will generally end up with about 6 cups of stock.

 If you want veggie stock, leave the chicken out and use more veggies.  For beef stock, substitute the chicken for beef, or make duck stock by substituting duck.  You can use the whole vegetable, but what I generally do is save all of my vegetable scraps.  I don’t eat the broccoli or mushroom stems, or the hard ends of lettuce.  I peel my carrots and potatoes and chop the tops off my leeks.  Instead of throwing all these things away, I save them in the freezer until I have enough for a big pot of stock.  You can use whatever veggies you have on hand.

Posted in: Today's recipe