Venison chipotle mealoaf

Posted on May 3, 2012

0




I’m really not a huge fan of meatloaf, but my fiance loves it so I figured I’d give it a try.  I adapted this recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine, and swapped the beef for venison, and added bacon instead of ketchup.  It has a nice kick to it, and stays very moist considering how lean venison is.  The best part is that the venison was hunted my my uncle, so it’s 100% free range organic!  I served mine tonight with pureed celery root and steamed asparagus.

1 lb ground venison

1/2 lb raw pork sausage, casings removed

1 tsp fresh rosemary

1 tsp fresh thyme

1 tsp ground ancho chilis

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

1 cup cilantro

1 large shallot

4 cloves garlic

2 Tbsp chipotle chilis

2 eggs

1 cup almond milk

1/2 cup almond meal

3-4 slices uncured bacon

In a food processor chop shallot, garlic and herbs.  Remove mixture and place in a medium bowl with meat.  In the processor add a couple of chipotle peppers from a can and puree to make a paste.  Add paste to bowl.  Add eggs, milk and almond meal, and spices and mix all ingredients together until well combined and sticking together.  If mixture seems to loose add a bit more almond meal.  Pour mixture into a greased loaf pan(I used leftover bacon grease for extra flavor), and place bacon slices on top.  Place loaf pan on a sheet pan (this will help catch any drippings before they smoke up the oven) and cook in a preheated 400 degree oven for about 45 minutes.  Allow  meatloaf to sit at least 10 minutes before slicing.  This will allow juices to redistribute so your loaf is nice and moist.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe