Coconut ginger chicken soup

Posted on May 10, 2012

0




I absolutely love Thai food, and was heartbroken when my fiance decided to go paleo, because I knew I would have to give it up.  I was delighted when I came across this recipe in my Around The World cookbook.  It incorporates many of the Thai flavors I love while omitting the rice and soy components so prevalent in Asian cuisine.  I didn’t even have to tweak it, except of course for my own personal tastes.  For my veggies I used a chef’s mix of fresh small mushrooms, and a can of  “stir fry mix”, that contained  carrots, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and sprouts.  As always read the labels on your canned items to make sure there are no unpleasant surprise ingredients.

2 cans organic coconut milk

3 cups chicken stock (preferably homemade)

about 8 oz roasted chicken shredded

4 stalks lemon grass trimmed and bruised

5 kaffir lime leaves torn

5 crushed black peppercorns

2 hot red chilis like thai, or serrano sliced

1 inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and sliced

1-2 tsp fish sauce

1-2 Tbsp fresh lime juice

about a cup of Asian vegetables such as bamboo shoots, sprouts, eggplant, or mushrooms.

cilantro to garnish

Mix together coconut milk and chicken stock in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and add lemon grass, ginger, lime leaves, peppercorns and chilis.  Allow mixture to steep for about 20 minutes.  Place a strainer in another soup pot and pour liquid into it discarding solids.  Return liquid to heat and add vegetables and chicken.  If you are using a mixture of fresh and canned veggies, add the fresh ones first and allow to cook before adding the canned.  Once veggies are cooked through add lime juice and fish sauce to taste.  Allow to simmer another 5 minutes or so.  Garnish with cilantro and more chilis if you like heat.  Enjoy!

 

Posted in: Today's recipe