Chicken salad with homemade mayo

Posted on May 19, 2012

0




When I was growing up, after a big holiday meal, my mom always made the leftovers into a salad, whether it be chicken, turkey, ham or even egg.  I never liked it much as a child, but as my tastes have changed, a good chicken or tuna salad hits the spot every now and then.   It thought I would have to give it up because of the mayonnaise, until I learned to make my own.  Mayo can be totally paleo as long as you use olive or even avocado oil.  The ingredients are just oil, egg and an acid like lemon juice.  For a mayo recipe see my May 17th post “paleo chipotle potato salad”.

about 1 lb roast chicken

about 1 cup homemade mayo

1/2 stalk celery finely chopped

1/2 an apple, finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 small shallot, chopped

1 cup walnuts roughly chopped

salt and pepper to taste.

Shred the roast chicken into bite sized pieces.  In a medium bowl add the next 6 ingredients and mix everything together until chicken is coated well, adding more mayo if necessary.  Add salt and pepper to taste, and stir again.  It’s just that easy!  This is a basic recipe, and you can always substitute the chicken for turkey, tuna, or chopped hard boiled egg.  You could also leave the chicken out and add more apple and some grapes for a vegetarian apple salad.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe