Grilled rockfish with roasted bruschetta

Posted on May 26, 2012

0




With the warm weather there’s nothing quite like the taste of some fresh bruschetta.  Since I can’t put it on bread anymore, I figured I’d roast it on the grill, and pour it over some fish.  For this recipe I used rockfish which has a mild flavor similar to bass, but you can use any fish that is in season or on sale.  I was also thrilled to have a use for all the wonderful herbs in my new herb pots my mother gave me a couple of weeks ago.  There’s just something about growing your own food that makes it taste better.

2 8 oz filets rockfish or other mild whitefish

2 medium tomatoes

1 tsp fresh rosemary

1 tsp fresh oregano

1 tsp fresh thyme

2 tsp fresh basil

3 cloves garlic minced

1 Tbsp olive oil

dash of red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

On a large sheet of aluminum foil drizzle a bit of olive oil, then place the fish on top.  Season with salt and pepper.  Chop tomatoes into about 1/2″ pieces.  Also finely chop all herbs.  In a medium bowl, stir together garlic, herbs, tomatoes, red pepper and olive oil.  Pour mixture over the fish filets.  Using another large sheet of foil make a tent over the fish, then fold together and pinch the edges of the top and bottom pieces of foil.  Grill on medium heat for about 15 minutes.  Be careful when opening the foil, because there will be very hot steam inside.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe