Orange cardamom soda

Posted on June 23, 2012

1




For those who don’t know, orange and cardamom go together like peanut butter and jelly.  I’ve had this combo in ice cream, and in some amazing shortbread cookies I used to make for special occasions.  I figured since I can’t have the cookies anymore, why not try the same flavors in a soda?   This one has fresh juice not from concentrate, with no added sugar so you don’t have to feel guilty.  I like my sodas a bit sweeter, so I added agave nectar, but it isn’t necessary if your fine with the natural sweetness of the oranges. .  Make this soda a cocktail by adding some tequila blanco, or substituting the soda for some sparkling wine or champagne.

1 cup fresh squeezed orange juice

1 tsp cardamom

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp raw agave (optional)

splash of sparkling water

1/4 tsp orange zest

Juice your oranges into a small bowl or cup.  Reserve a slice of orange and run it around the rim of an 8 oz glass until it is coated in juice.  On a small plate mix the zest, salt and half of the cardamom.  Turn the glass upside down and rub the rim into the spice mixture until it is coated.  In the glass stir together the rest of the cardamom, juice and agave if using.  Add ice and a splash of sparkling water stirring again.  Garnish with an orange slice.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe