Primal squash lasagna

Posted on November 29, 2012

0




Alright, so this one isn’t paleo since there’s plenty of cheese in it, but I did leave out the traditional pasta in favor of zucchini “noodles” so its still gluten free and better for you than the traditional lasagna.  I made this because my fiance kept hassling me to make a paleo lasagna, which I insisted was just meat sauce.  I couldn’t quite get it paleo, but the primal version is pretty tasty.

1 lb spicy, uncured sausage

1 cup whole milk ricotta

1 cup shredded cheese

12-16 slices long slender squash such as delicata or zucchini

1 jar of your favorite paleo friendly pasta sauce (I found a pumpkin sauce with tomato and basil at whole foods that was pretty amazing)

Remove sausage from casings if needed, and brown in a bit of olive oil until cooked through.  Drain and set aside.  Using a microplane, or very sharp knife, slice squash lengthwise into about 1/4″ thick slices.  In a 9×9 pan place as many slices as will fit in a single layer at the bottom.  Spoon in a bit of sausage to cover the noodles, then do the same with the cheeses and sauce.  Repeat this process until the pan is full.  Cook lasagna in a preheated 375 degree oven for about 45 minutes.  I cover mine lightly with foil because I don’t like my cheese crispy, but if you prefer crispy brown edges, leave lasagna uncovered. Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe