Goat meatball soup

Posted on February 5, 2013

0




Since my fiance has decided Mondays should be “meatball Monday”, I’ve been looking for different recipe ideas to change it up from the usual beef meatballs with marinara.  I happened to have ground goat and goat stock in my freezer, so I figured what the heck?  I’ll make my own version of Italian wedding soup using goat.  This is one of my recipe experiments that turned out extremely well.  The warm, slightly spicy flavors are wonderful, and yet still lighter than a beef stew.  I made my meatballs in the oven for this recipe, but you can always brown them in a pan.

For meatballs:

1 lb ground goat

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp ceyenne

1/2 tsp garam masala

salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl until well incorporated.  Divide mixture into balls about 1″ in diameter.  Preheat oven to 350.  Place meatballs on a parchment or foil lined rimmed baking sheet, and bake until nice and brown about 20 minutes.

For soup:

2 cups goat or beef stock

1 large carrot peeled and chunked

1 cup baby bok choy

2 garlic cloves minced

1 shallot minced

2 chilis de arbol

1 tbsp bacon fat

Heat bacon fat over medium high heat in a medium soup pot.  Add carrots sauteing until softened slightly, about 5 minutes.  Add onions and garlic and cook until fragrant and translucent, but not brown.  Reduce heat to medium and add broth, bringing to a simmer.  Add all other ingredients, including meatballs and simmer about 15 minutes.  Remove chilis before serving.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe