Vegetable beef soup

Posted on March 5, 2013

0




This recipe was inspired by one my mother used to make when I was a kid.  Of course, when I was little I was too silly to appreciate it, but now as an adult I’ve grown to look forward to it.  She likes to slow cook hers on the wood burning stove my parents still use to help heat the house, but if you aren’t lucky enough to have one of those, you can always just make it on the kitchen stove top like I do.  Hers also includes ingredients like corn and green beans which aren’t paleo, but I’ve substituted those veggies while keeping the basic recipe the same.  It is a great way to utilize leftover pot roast, and as with most soups is even better the second day.

1 lb leftover pot roast

2 cups (not from concentrate) tomato juice

2 cups beef stock (preferably homemade)

1 large carrot, peeled chopped

1 leek sliced

1 small sweet potato peeled and chunked

1 parsnip peeled and chopped

salt and pepper

Heat stock and tomato juice in a medium pot until it begin bubble.  Add carrot, parsnip and potato and allow to cook until veggies are fork tender, about 20 minutes.  Shred pot roast into bite sized chunks and add it to the soup along with the leeks.  Reduce heat to low, add salt and pepper to taste and allow to simmer about 30 minutes.  You can serve the soup immediately, or allow it to simmer on low for up to two hours.  Serve alone, or with paleo rosemary garlic bread on the side.  Enjoy!

Posted in: Today's recipe