Green Chili and Lime Marinated Venison Chops

Posted on May 17, 2013

0




I came up with this recipe the other day simply by necessity.  I had to make dinner, and simply utilized what I had in my kitchen.  It was a case of “what would go well with this?”  It ended up being very Latin inspired, which is fine with me.  I served my chops with spicy pickled veggies and fried plantains.  I’ve started to put those two sides in regular rotation to change it up from whipped cauliflower or sweet potato and asparagus or broccoli.

For chops:venison2

4 venison chops

1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp fresh lime juice

2 Tbsp green onion thinly sliced

1 Anaheim pepper chopped

2 garlic cloves minced

2 tbsp cilantro chopped

sea salt and black pepper

In a small bowl whisk together 1/4 cup olive oil and lime juice.  Stir in chili, onion, cilantro and garlic.  Place chops in a shallow container, and thoroughly salt and pepper them.  Pour marinade over the top.  Tightly cover, and allow to marinate in the fridge overnight, or on the counter for at least 1 hour.

In a large oven safe skillet heat remaining 2 Tbsp olive oil until shimmering, but not smoking.  Remove chops from marinade and place in the pan.   Sear chops on both sides just until browned 2-3 minutes each.  Place skillet in a preheated 375 degree oven.  Allow to cook another 10-15 minutes.  Serve with fried plantains and spicy pickled veggies.  Enjoy!

 

 

Posted in: Today's recipe